fredag 15. oktober 2010

New Zealand - geography and climate


New Zealand is an independent state in Oceania. It contains of two main islands (The North Island and The South Island) and several smaller islands in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. New Zealand is the most isolated country in the world, and the closest neighbor, Australia, is on the other side of the Tasman Sea. Australia is around 2000 km northwest of New Zealand.

Even though the South Island has the biggest area, three of four million inhabitants live on the North Island. Only the last million live on the South Island. Both the capital of New Zealand Wellington, and the biggest city, Auckland, are on the North Island.

Mount Cook
There are lots of mountains and volcanoes on the islands, and the highest mountain is Mount Cook (3764 meters above sea level) on the South Island. Although the South Island is most mountainous, the North Island is more affected by active volcanism. The biggest volcano is called Mount Ruapehu (2797 meters above sea level), and has had over 50 eruptions since 1861.


The climate in New Zealand is very various from the north to the south. Because of the country’s varying landscape, you can find both snow and beaches on the island. In the south there can be quite chilly, but the temperature infrequent drops below 0˚C in the lowlands. In the north there is a subtropical climate. That means that the summer is long and warm, and the winter is mild and short.

New Zealand is on the south hemisphere, and because of that they have the opposite seasons from Europeans. The summer in New Zealand starts in December and ends in February, while the short and mild winter last from June to August.

New Zealand is well known for having abundantly precipitation, especially in the western parts of the country. The annual rainfall on the west coast of New Zealand is actually more than Amazonas’ yearly amount of rain.



Ingen kommentarer:

Legg inn en kommentar